Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

C

September 9th, 2018 11:00

XPS 15 9570 Video editing disappointment...

After weeks of research and eventually convincing myself that I didn't need to switch to Mac I finally pulled the trigger on this XPS 15 9570 laptop. Being a video editor I bought the highest spec model available which has 32Gb of ram and the 4Gb Nvidia GTX1050 Ti graphics. I saw multiple reviews recommending this specific graphics card for laptops since they worked better with Premier Pro CC. However to my disappointment it still gets bogged down by simple tasks like adding a title.

It performs fine when you just have a basic timeline going, color corrections and some warp stabilizer here and there and it handles that great. But when I add a title it bogs right down, fans go crazy, and it will catch maybe 2 or 3 frames while playing through the part with the title before it catches up to itself and plays the rest of the timeline smoothly. I am suspicious that the GTX1050 Ti is not doing anything and the computer is running off the intel integrated graphics alone. When I use process explorer to view the graph of the GPU, it never ever shows any activity in "GPU Dedicated Memory", only shows activity in "GPU Usage" and "GPU System Memory", which is the same thing that happens on my old laptop that doesn't have any graphics card at all.

I've spend the past 2 days wallowing through the muddy abyss of trying to get the current drivers installed for everything on this laptop. It does work much better than my previous 5 year old laptop for this task, especially exporting. It only takes about 2X the video time to render it, whereas my old laptop would take sometimes an entire week to render ~20 minutes of video. However even that piece of junk wouldn't get all bogged down by little things like adding a title. Anyone have any ideas? 

4 Operator

• 

20.1K Posts

September 9th, 2018 11:00