Start a Conversation

Unsolved

M

5 Posts

February 8th, 2020 00:00

XPS 9560 Periodically Getting Slow

Hello dear community,

I have a recurring slowness issue which I have not been able to solve for 2 years. I hope you can help me. Here my story goes:

I bought my Dell XPS 9560 2 years and 4 months ago. (Does that make my laptop old btw?) I am an animation filmmaker (I do cel-animation using Photoshop and motion design using After Effects), and I often use most of the Adobe CC products. (PS, AE, PP, AI) But I am a freelancer and a graduate student, so I do not use those products all the time.

6-7 months after I had bought this Dell, the problems started. While I was using Photoshop and After Effects, I could not even move a layer. Also, the computer was laggy while I was searching web, or folders. The computer was slow. And one day, a problem started with the charger. The error code I got was something like  "No charger detected" Since I had the 2 years warranty back then, Dell support did all the necessary diagnostics and they changed the motherboard, fans and charger cable. I did not question it, thinking the problem was solved.

Everything was fine for 6-7 months. After 6-7 months, the laptop became slow and laggy again. I did a fresh start with Windows 10. But at that time I had started graduate school and for months I use the computers at school because I was frustrated with mine. 

And then, I called Dell Support. They did the same tests, diagnostics, and I think nothing was found. So they changed the motherboard and fans again... And once again, the problem was solved.

But than, as you can predict, after 3-4 months, the same problem occurred. I could not move layers in PS, I could not even watch Youtube videos, I could not get a preview from After Effects, when I right clicked on any folder, it took 5 seconds to open the window.