Suppose we have a Centera device (Centera-A) which has the archived content and we have another centera device (Centera-B) which is used for incremental backup. Now, we delete the couple of old files from Centera-B but those files are still available in Centera-A. In this case, if we run the incremental backup, will it copy the 2 old files from the Centera-A or only copy the newly stored files in Centera-A.
Assuming you are asking about Centera replication (and not a 3rd party Centera backup application), newly created objects on Centera-A will only be marked for replication once. If they are deleted from Centera-B after they have been replicated, Centera-A will not know nor care; the objects in question will only live on Centera-A from that point forward.
Does it mean that the replication job (incremental backup) will not copy the deleted 2 files from Centera-A (Source) to Centera-B (Backup-Target) and only copy the objects which were not copied before i.e. newly stored objects.
if necessary, the simplest way to copy again the 2 clips on Centera-B is to manually run a restore from Centera-A, that will copy only clips not in Centera-B. If you know the creation dates of the clips you can restrict with a partial restore.
mfh2
1 Rookie
•
208 Posts
900
0
Posted October 1st, 2013 15:00
Hello Kumar -
Assuming you are asking about Centera replication (and not a 3rd party Centera backup application), newly created objects on Centera-A will only be marked for replication once. If they are deleted from Centera-B after they have been replicated, Centera-A will not know nor care; the objects in question will only live on Centera-A from that point forward.
Best Regards,
Mike Horgan