UNSOLVED

Rajesh_Kannan

updated

16 years ago

0

2258

May 11th, 2010 09:00

Deletion in centera + edition when default is infinite

Hi,

This is Kabir from Unisys InfoImage team. I have a few questions with respect to retention management in centera + edition -

1. When we archive data into Centera, it gets saved as blob in a clip. Each clip will have multiple blobs. Do all blobs with the same retention value always are grouped together in a single clip? If yes, then i assume that deleting individual blob is not possible. Deleting of the entire clip is what happens. If not then what happens to the space that gets created for a blob that got deleted once it reached its retention value. Does it get reused?

2. When a workitem (InfoImage term for a file saved in clip) is archived in centera + and then retrieved, modifed and saved again. Does it get saved in the same lcoation od it creates a copy and saves it in a different location? If yes, then does the original copy get deleted to maintain a single latest copy?

2. If a user configures a retention, then centera does not allow to delete it unless the retention value is reached. The default retention of the data stored in centera + edition is infinte. Is there no way of deleting data that is stored with default infinite retention? If there is a way then can you please let know how?

Regards,

Abdul Kabir