Infact, my envrionment has 59 client resources defined. 59 unique Index entries under the Media Tab and only 30 having active scheduled backups on a daily basis. Both nsrlic -vvv & license conformance report show me 100% OK in client connections.
So I just want to diable a few more, release client connections from here while retaining the client resurces & Indexes and then add 2 more to active schedules to run daily.
It has not yet released the licenses so I am a bit worried.
Well our idea definetely is not to create an intelligent cycle as we have many other tasks to handle than to daily keep swapping schedules.
Infact, as I mentioned earleir...there are 59 client resources with indexes so why did it not warn on the previous 30 licenses. The only thing I see as a difference is that this is the first time we are decommissioning any clients since upgrade to 8.2.
If the clients are just using client connection licenses, then there is no need to worry about client licenses being used up.
The client connection license is check at backup time... so as long as the client is no longer being backed up, then it will not consume any client connection license.
However, if the client uses a NetWorker Module license for backups, then these licenses are permanently assigned to a NetWorker client resource. In this case, to release these license so that they can be reassigned to a different client, you can simply delete the license, and then re-add it back. Before deleting, note the enabler and auth codes.
If you are using the capacity based based enabler code, then there is no need to worry, since you are licensed based on the amount of backup capacity, not on number of clients.
However, if the client uses a NetWorker Module license for backups, then these licenses are permanently assigned to a NetWorker client resource. In this case, to release these license so that they can be reassigned to a different client, you can simply delete the license, and then re-add it back. Before deleting, note the enabler and auth codes.
You can also delete it from client resource by using nsradmin.
Client license normally is kind of floating, or at least it was that way in previous NW releases where after some time you see that it goes away from list of used ones. If you have client which you no longer use, you can then delete the client and problem solved.
amediratta
2 Intern
•
2014 Posts
1903
0
Posted February 16th, 2017 04:00
I need to retain their old backups till their retention is over.