UNSOLVED

suresh_17june

updated

19 years ago

0

6238

January 2nd, 2008 07:00

data lost

Hi,
      I did a OS repair to factory setting and have lost all the data and software. Is there any backup of the data maintained in the system?
  • C3PO5

    2 Intern

    •

    2693 Posts

    391

    0

    Posted January 2nd, 2008 07:00

    Hi
    If you did not back it up to another drive before you did the factory restore your data is gone
    and all of the software you put on it because factory restore formatted the drive !!
    Backup is your best friend !!
    Good Luck
     
  • GioAguilar

    2 Intern

    •

    1882 Posts

    391

    0

    Posted January 2nd, 2008 13:00

    Before starting the process, you received a notification saying: "Yes, format the hard drive" or something like that. Also there's a caution that "all data will be lost"...
    Are you the kind of person who just click "Next, Next...." and do n ot read the instructions...???
  • Hydralisk00222

    2 Intern

    •

    2440 Posts

    391

    0

    Posted January 2nd, 2008 14:00



    GioAguilar wrote:
    Before starting the process, you received a notification saying: "Yes, format the hard drive" or something like that. Also there's a caution that "all data will be lost"...
    Are you the kind of person who just click "Next, Next...." and do n ot read the instructions...???



    :smileyvery-happy:
  • 391

    0

    Posted January 3rd, 2008 01:00

    It had asked me, formatting the hard drive, yes/no but regarding the data, i dont remember it has asked any confirmation message from me. :smileysad:
  • GioAguilar

    2 Intern

    •

    1882 Posts

    391

    0

    Posted January 3rd, 2008 02:00

    Formatting = wipe out
  • C3PO5

    2 Intern

    •

    2693 Posts

    391

    0

    Posted January 3rd, 2008 17:00

    Hi
    This is what it says just before you format the drive partition !
                                   CONFIRM DATA DELETION
    WARNING-This will reformat your operating hard drive partition prior to restoring the factory image ,
    This means data on that partition will be deleted and cannot be recovered !
    To confirm this action , Please check the box below and press the Next botton. 
     
    I know this will not help you now but it might the next time you have to restore your computer!!
    Good Luck