I have a friend that uses Vista OS. He is asking about deleting his E-mail messages. As I understand it when he deletes a message from his inbox, message just disappears and he don't ever find it again. Is there away to set his messages so they go to a trash or some other folder so he has a second chance to look at it before deleting it permanently. He is using Gmail account. I use XP OS so I'm not familiar with proper procedure or terms in Vista. Thanks for any help you can give us.
Your friend has to configure Gmail for Windows Live. Then he logs into the gmail webserver and logs in. Click on settings, forwarding and pop, You'll see a page that looks like this.
Under pop download, the choices are delete Gmails's copy(stays in trash on webserver for 30 days)
Keep Gmail's copy in the inbox(must be deleted manually)
Archive Gmails copy.
I usually delete Gmails copy and the messages are there for 30 days. In the sent folder, are all the old emails the person sent. If it was an email he responded to, there should be a copy of the origional letter.
Evermore, there is a folder on Gmail called All Mail. It stores all messages received, sent or deleted. See if your friend can find old messages that he wants to retrieve in that folder. If All Mail isn't visible to Windows Mail (if it's using POP3 access), he can access it by logging to the Gmail site online.
PudgyOne
11 Legend
•
30315 Posts
•
106638 Points
1289
0
Posted October 9th, 2009 12:00
Evermore,
Using Gmail, there are different ways to approach this. Does the person use an email program, like Windows Live or Mozilla Thunderbird
Gmail has settings that can be changed. Once deleted, or as Gmail calld it moved to trash, they stay there for 30 days, then get deleted.
Just need to know exactly what you're really looking at?
Rick