So after a week of testing, I failed the DR image back to production. The DBAs created files on the DR image which did not get failed back. What did I do wrong?
Yes, one cluster at the DR site, the other at our Production site.
When I failed back, what option was I supposed to choose from the GUI. When I failed over from Prod to DR, I chose Test a copy and failover. That seemed to work fine as we were able to bring up the SQL database and the DBAs added more files. Then I just chose "failover" from the GUI screen and I chose latest image. When I did this, I got a message that journal entries would be destroyed.
Was I supposed to choose Test a copy and Recover Production when failing back from the DR site to Production?
Consultant Corporate Systems Engineer - RecoverPoint & VPLEX (EMEA)
Data Protection and Availability Solutions
EMC Europe Limited
Mobile: +44 (0) 7730 781169
E-mail: richard.forshaw@emc.com
Twitter: @rw4shaw
EMC Europe Limited
Registered in England with Company No. 00990752 Registered office address: Level 1, Exchange House, Primrose Street, London C2A 2EG
The information contained in this e-mail message and any files transmitted with it are confidential. It is intended only for the addressee and others authorised to receive it. If you are not the intended recipient or the person responsible for delivering the message to the intended recipient, you are advised that you have received the e-mail in error; please delete it and notify the sender immediately. You should not retain the message or disclose its contents to anyone. Any disclosure, copying, distribution or action taken in reliance on the contents of the e-mail and its attachments is strictly prohibited.
When you choose failover you are guided through the mandatory option of being able to select the PiT snapshot. The default option is the latest image. Now when you move forward to the Start Failover step you can choose to untick the start replication option and then select Save & Close. This automatically diverts you to the Manage Recovery screen. What you can do from here is to take advantage of the option to test the database on the original Prod side that you’re failing back to before initiating actual failover by going back to the Manage Recovery screen and selecting Back to Wizard to relevant actions.
Regards,
Rich Forshaw
Consultant Corporate Systems Engineer - RecoverPoint & VPLEX (EMEA)
Data Protection and Availability Solutions
EMC Europe Limited
Mobile: +44 (0) 7730 781169
E-mail: richard.forshaw@emc.com
Twitter: @rw4shaw
EMC Europe Limited
Registered in England with Company No. 00990752 Registered office address: Level 1, Exchange House, Primrose Street, London C2A 2EG
The information contained in this e-mail message and any files transmitted with it are confidential. It is intended only for the addressee and others authorised to receive it. If you are not the intended recipient or the person responsible for delivering the message to the intended recipient, you are advised that you have received the e-mail in error; please delete it and notify the sender immediately. You should not retain the message or disclose its contents to anyone. Any disclosure, copying, distribution or action taken in reliance on the contents of the e-mail and its attachments is strictly prohibited.
So when I am asked if I am ok with the Journal being erased, I answer yes? How are any changes made to the DR database that need to be included in production after fail back get copies over then?
The changes are kept on the replica volumes and these are replicated back to what was Prod. RP performs a short init to determine which blocks have changed in order to replicate them from the new Prod to the old Prod.
admingirl
2 Intern
•
614 Posts
738
0
Posted March 14th, 2016 06:00
I chose latest image.