When I use msconfig and uncheck items in Startup Menu, after restart I get a message from Configuration Utility that since I changed Startup I have booted in diagnostic mode and that I should select normal mode and undo my changes. I don't get it, I don't want to undo them, I just want the system to do what I told it to do. What's up with this?
Put a check in the "Don't Show Me This Again" box and click "OK," and the nag will cease, and everything will run fine. It's a misleading prompt, and one that can be safely ignored.
Thanks, Flooby. I took your advise and now I can boot with Startup the way I want it. However I notice that I am restarting in Selective Startup Mode. I guess that there is nothing wrong with this but it does seem a little strange. Will I be in Selective Startup forever?
Yes, you will be in Selective Startup mode forever. While Windows XP makes all installed memory available to installed applications, the Windows 9X family (95/98/ME) restricted resources to only 64K so judicious "pruning" of the items on the Startup tab was essential to maintain a smoothly running system and Selective Startup was almost universally used on those systems.
In future if you want to keep Normal Startup mode & no msconfig startup message use FREE Startup Control Panel.
You can get FREE program called Startup Control Panel to List Auto Startup Folders & HKEY's & Add / Delete / Temp Remove Auto Startup programs from;
http://www.mlin.net/StartupCPL.shtml
After install use Control Panel switch to Classic View & select "Program" , you can also create Desktop shortcut by right click on Control Panel "Program".
To Temp remove , remove tick & doesn't give Startup message like MSCONFIG.
Is provides a more permanent Delete than MSCONFIG's only Temp removal.
Flooby
2 Intern
•
3031 Posts
387
0
Posted January 21st, 2004 14:00