I have a dell Dimension 8400 that i've just finished doing a pc restore and I don't want to mess up my computer now that it is working. I did have Dell support 3 (DS3) and was liking it. i've installed Dell Suppor Center and have Dell Support V 5.0.0.630 already running.
are there any issues i should know about if i want DS3... do i need to uninstall DS v5 first? has anyone been getting unnessesary or conflicting updates from DS3??
I think what you're talking about are Dell Support Center 2.0 (the newest version with the blue wrench icon), and the older Dell Support 3.xx (an orange E icon).
The new version does the same thing the old one did, plus it has more features like links to the site, a tuneup function, etc. Dell actually recommends you not run both - though they don't make that clear. For more info, click on the "more information" tab on this link, then "what is the difference" at the bottom.
I will give you fair warning that a lot of people have had problems with all the versions of Dell Support Center, but if it works for you then you can use whichever one you like (although I believe Dell is intending to phase out the older 3.xx version).
EDIT: User accounts shouldn't be affected at all, since it runs as a base system program.
Message Edited by Alexandra_P on 02-08-2008 10:05 AM
I didn't have Support Center (blue icon) When I first posted this thread. Now I have Dell Support Center 2.x and Dell Support v5.0.0.630 (it is the original version that came with the computer).
When i check About Dell Support it sais
Dell Support Version 5.0.0.630
So I figure I have the first version of Dell support. not Dell support 3.xx.
Since Dell recomends NOT running both, should I uninstall Dell support and just run Dell support Center? Do i do that via add/remove programs (I don't see uninstall in the start menu). Everything SEEMSto be running ok, so i don't know if I should leave it alone as it is.
You should be able to remove either one in Add/Remove programs - but if for some reason you can't get the old one to remove, or you prefer keeping it without having it running all the time:
Try right-clicking on the icon for the older version, go into the settings, and uncheck the option for running it at startup.
But if you're not having any trouble with it, then it's OK to leave it alone - no biggie :) .
ploquit
3 Posts
398
0
Posted February 8th, 2008 02:00
Does having user accounts conflict with DS3?