Can anyone explain to me (who is very familiar with how Gmail works) why when you label a email from your inbox to go to another location within your mail account, why it keeps the original message in the inbox? If I'm moving/labeling a message then I want it to go where I've moved/labeled it, I don't want a copy of it staying in my inbox. I feel this defeats the entire purpose of catagorizing an email to begin with. Is there some kind of setting where I can make it so it doesn't keep a copy where it originated from or not?
I remember trying Gmail years back and I remember I didn't like it. Now I think I know why that was...
When you label a new mail just hit the "X" on the inbox label and it will take the new label for archiving purposes. When moving old mails apply the new label and "X" the old label before archiving and that does the trick. Don't forget "All mail" will have everything there regardless of label.
mrrockford
5 Posts
235
0
Posted May 27th, 2008 13:00
Howdy,
When you label a new mail just hit the "X" on the inbox label and it will take the new label for archiving purposes. When moving old mails apply the new label and "X" the old label before archiving and that does the trick. Don't forget "All mail" will have everything there regardless of label.