If you delete the profiles, you may loose some data or have it locked so that you can not access in the "Documents and Settings" folder for the user that is being deleted.
For each profile that you want to get rid of while logged into that account, Go into "My Documents" folder and copy out the files into a folder that you create to hold them.
Once that is done, you can go to Start > Control Panel > User Accounts.
If I save the contents of the user files, can they all be put in the same user folder together?
Another thing I noticed when I went to the User Profiles (My Computer, Properties, Advanced, User Profile settings) I find that one name is listed twice. The status of one name version is "Local" like all of the other profiles. The status of the duplicate name is "backup."
Does that second "backup" profile present any special consideration?
Whatever documents/data you wish to save, just copy it over to the All Users folder. Once you have done that, yo ucan delete any profile wihtout any ill effects.
Bay Wolf
4438 Posts
320
0
Posted January 16th, 2007 04:00
Message Edited by Bay Wolf on 01-16-200712:19 AM