When did you delete those clients? I'm asking to determine the best approach.
You could run mmrecov however, that will overwrite the media DB, which means that you will have to re-scan all devices where the latest backups since the date where the bootstrap is chosen, and will also recover all the configuration for those clients however, if you created any new client since the latest bootstrap then you will lose the configuration for those clients.
Also you could just take a copy of the media DB, run mmrecov, rename the res.R folder to res and then import the copy of the media DB, in that case you will bring back the deleted clients, but as I said, if you have added new clients those will have to be re-created with the same client Id to avoid any client ID issues.
What Carlos asked was actually how did you or whoever deleted it? Based on that, we can say how to recreate it with as less as possible pain. But let me assume someone was just quick on finger and removed client definitions in NMC.
1st question is - are these unique (only) client definitions you had? If not, simply recreate them (use /nsr/logs/rap.log to see what were older settings).
If these were unique, pretty much same as above - recreate them and pay extra attention to use same clientid as they had before (it is true that NW will use cached client even if client was deleted, but only if server was not restarted since). To learn about what client id you had before run mminfo -avot -r client,clientid | sort -u > /tmp/clntlist.txt This file will have list of all clients with their clientids.
IF you do not see those clients, then you have bigger problem because it means that current mdb does not know of them. In that case you could do mmrecov, but I see no point of as that you would loose track of all backups done after Monday 13th (they say that the only worse thing than Friday 13th is Monday 13th - seems to be true in your case). In such case, I would scan tapes for data (if they were on disk, they are gone).
Our netwoker tech quit and we are new users without clue but seem to be catching on.
They were deleted from the neworker console the servers still have clients. If we lose data form Monday till now if we do mmrecov on the console won't the incramental pick up the data when run tonight?
It will, but it might be you don't need mmrecov at all. I would suggest to have official call with support and have them connect via webex to your environment to help you out - it would be quicker, more accurate and overall more safe.
Unfortantly our supported exspired in Sept 13 and they wont help. I was able to get the client id list and able to recover the connection. Again, unfortantly, it is 78 clients and will take forever. That is why i thought mmrecov would be easier, but if you thing i should do it the long way i will just have to burn the midnight oil and do it.
On a couple i'm trying to create (these are clients i recreated after delete) but i still want to attach to backups from month ago. I delete than tried to recreate using old client id it is telling me,
"found client Corporate (server name) clent id 40 digit id
Specify this client id or leave client id blank Otherwise the client name must be renamed
Is there anyway i can get around this to put in old client id?
Right now, I would suggest to use approach as described. It is very simple - if you use mmrecov, following will happen:
- /nsr/mm will go back to earlier date (so you loose all data from 13th to now)
- you get old resources back, but you loose all changes done meanwhile
One may suggest that you stop NW, make copy of current /nsr/mm, then do mmrecov and then stop NW so that you set to use your latest /nsr/mm and copy of /nsr/res from 13th. That in theory might work, but I can't say if you had any changes meanwhile. Another risk is that you may get stuck and there might be no one on forum to guide you so you get yourself stuck again. So to minimize any risks, I would rather see you continue doing this as so far. Yes, it will take time for sure, but in my guess you had only resources deleted and all data is there so just recreate resources as they were and you should be fine.
No. What happened here was that previous clients had clientidA and when you recreate them without using original clientid, new clientid was assigned - clientidB. Now, you have most likely backups done with clientidA (until 13th) and clientidB (after 13th) so you must choose what is more important to you. If I could, I would keep clientidB and call old client somewhat differently (bogus name - use dummy IP in /etc/hosts) and create that one with clientidA. If these are only file system backups, then continue to use clientidB (actually, you don't have to specify it as it would be used automatically) and old stuff could be restored using so called ssid restore (note, this is not browsable restore).
ble1
6 Operator
•
14354 Posts
•
56186 Points
4125
0
Posted February 14th, 2014 11:00
no, please do it for all clients... so just run nsrls (without any arguments). Let's see what is affected first.