I have 2 Compellent SC4020's in different sites. they are configured with a replication link outside of my other networking. I have 2 vmware clusters one connected to each san in a non-uniform method. I have configured one of my volumes to live migrate from one san to another. This volume is configured to be 500GB and was currently using 75GB.
Once I had migrated the volume from one san to another I expected the original volume to drop to 0GB used and the new volume to go to 75GB plus the extra data written. The new volume has the extra data written but the old volume has the same 75GB size. So is this normal or am I missing something?
I regard to your question, yes, you'd need to complete the migration. Just referring to the text of the manual, but it shows that prior to completing the migration, IO requests are still being sent to the old destination. The process of completing is the process of safely pointing your traffic to its new destination in software.
I did not select complete, because if I select complete my vm will stop functioning as the storage has disappeared. With a non-uniform configuration the vm keeps writing to the SAN that originally has it's volume; however, the SAN passes that request to the SAN that actually has the volume. So if I "Complete" the move the initial SAN will remove the mapping to the host and my vm will die.
The roles were swapped automatically once the migration was completed. Ok, so from what I am hearing the original volume size will stay the same until I "Complete" the migration and then I could delete the volume? The issue I have with that is the non-uniform configuration I have I cannot provide access directly to vm's in one cluster to a SAN in another site so I would then have to move the VM to the other site as well.
This is what I figured so in anon-uniform setup this will instantly break the connection and the VM will cease to function as it will no longer see it's data. So I guess I will have to move the vm to the other site and fix the mapping to the data over there before I complete the move. This is not what I saw in my testing so it is a little unfortunate that I'll have to move my vm but I guess.
Dell-DylanJ
6 Operator
•
2924 Posts
542
0
Posted December 25th, 2020 07:00
Hello
I regard to your question, yes, you'd need to complete the migration. Just referring to the text of the manual, but it shows that prior to completing the migration, IO requests are still being sent to the old destination. The process of completing is the process of safely pointing your traffic to its new destination in software.