I have two networked computers. I put my Outlook Inbox on in Shared documents under My Network Places and would not like to remove it. If I right click on it to delete it from shared documents, will it delete the main file stored on my hard drive on the desktop (it's primary location)?
If you have a link in the shared folders, then you can delete the link without deleting the original. If you moved the original to the shared folders, then deleting the file in shared folders will delete your only copy.
Thanks. This is my outlook.pst file and I'd like to break the link. Is there a way to do that? If not, should I copy the file and paste it in another location, then delete the original file and move the new one to the location of the original. Will that work?
Sorry for the confusion.The file is where I want it, but it is also in shared documents in my network places. That is the one I'd like to delete.The original file was moved to the new location similar to yours, ALL My Documents/Outlook. That's where I WANT IT. I am concerned that if I delete the file in shared documents, I will lose the one in All My Documents/Outlook (the one I want to keep.).
The reason that it was in Shared docs is because I was copying the file onto my laptop on the network. I guess that wasn't the best way to do it.
If it is not a link and it is the original file, just move it to where ever you want the file (I keep mine in My Documents/Mail).
If it is a link, just delete it.
I'm guess by link, you don't mean that what is store in the shared folders is a link, but that you want to break the link to the other machines over the network. If so, then follow my first suggestion.
You have to figure out if you have two files or one. It sounds like you have two.
If you have two, you have to figure out which one you want to keep. It sounds like you want to keep the one in the shared folders. If that is the case, I would first delete the one in My Documents (sending it to the recycle bin so you can get it back if you need to). You can just move it to the My Documents location. Now you only have one non-shared email folders. The old one is in the recycle bin.
If you want to keep the one in My Documents, then just delete the one in shared documents folder. It will go to the recycle bin so you can get it back if you need it.
PETER345
1 Rookie
•
5796 Posts
297
0
Posted March 30th, 2007 05:00
Peter