UNSOLVED

olivej1

updated

19 years ago

O

olivej1

1 Message

0

16914

November 20th, 2007 02:00

Hyperlink in my word documents, I cannot remove

November 19, 2007

I have a question in reference to my hyperlink formatting in previously saved "Word" documents and any new PDF attachments. I am using Windows XP on my Dell 4600 series, Pentium-4, home computer for homework.

All my saved "word" documents show:
{ HYPERLINK http://www.jobsinri.com/seek/coresults2.aspx?co_num=9560}
instead of correctly showing : BUILDERS SURPLUS

I know you can point the cursor on the unformatted bracket hyperlink and then right-click to select "Remove Hyperlink"- which then returns it to the proper BUILDERS SURPLUS link. My question becomes is there a way to restore each document, the entire page(s) in one shot as opposed to selecting each hyperlink on every paragraph in one document manually? by repeating the manual process above?

Somehow I managed to change the formatting on all my saved "Word" documents and PDF attachments in emails to Hyperlink bracket instead of the actual URL link in example above: BUILDERS SURPLUS . I have gone to Tools->"Autocorrect Options" then selecting "Auto format" & "Auto format as you type" and putting a checkmark in the "Internet and Network paths with hyperlinks" but that only solves my problem for new "Word" documents not previously "saved" ones on my computer.

I appreciate any help and assistance in this tangled web that I have woven myself into.

Sincerely,
John
  • abach

    1728 Posts

    724

    0

    Posted November 22nd, 2007 07:00

    You are seeing the entire hyperlink field because you have the "Show Fields" property checked. To see just the hyperlinks, do the following:
     
    Word 2003
     
    Tools, Options, View tab. Look for the Show group and remove the check from "Field Codes"
     
    Word 2007
     
    Office Button, Word Options button, Advanced category. In the Show Document Content, remove the check from "Show field codes instead of their values"
     
    Also, if you want to remove the hyperlinks in a document, yet keep the text, you can insert a macro that will allow this. In either version of Word, press ALT-F11 to open the Visual Basic Editor. Look for the Normal entry under the Project list (in upper left-hand corner of editor) and select it. Choose Insert, Module from the VBA Editor menu. Insert the following code. (Make sure there are no lines that continue with a wrap, except for the line containing the & _ )
     
    Sub RemoveAllHyperLinks()
        Dim i As Integer
        Dim x As Integer

        If ActiveDocument.Hyperlinks.Count = 0 Then
            MsgBox "There are no hyperlinks in the current document"
            Exit Sub
        End If
        If MsgBox("Delete " & ActiveDocument.Hyperlinks.Count & " hyperlinks?" & vbCrLf & _
                  "(This will only remove the hyperlink, not the text)", vbYesNo + vbQuestion) = vbYes Then
           
            For i = ActiveDocument.Hyperlinks.Count To 1 Step -1
                ActiveDocument.Hyperlinks(i).Delete
                x = x + 1
            Next i
            MsgBox " All " & x & " hyperlinks have been deleted", vbInformation
        End If
    End Sub
    Close the VBA Editor to return to Word. Open your document(s) that contain the hyperlinks.
     
    To run the macro -
     
    Word 2003
    Tools, Macro, Macros. Select the RemoveAllHyperlinks macro and click Run
     
     
    Word 2007
    You must allow the Developer tab to show by choosing Office Button, Word Options button. Under the Popular category, place a check in the "Show developer tab in ribbon"
     
    Back in Word, click the Developer tab, click Macros and select the RemoveAllHyperlinks macro and run it.
     
    If you need more help, let me know.


    Message Edited by abach on 11-22-2007 11:10 AM
  • JRosenfeld

    2 Intern

    •

    4383 Posts

    724

    0

    Posted November 24th, 2007 19:00

    Alt+F9 toggles between field view and hyperlink text view. That will do all the hypetlinks (fields) in the document in one go.
    (above is for Word 2002, but as far as I know it is also for other versions)