I've recently bought a used Dell precision 7510. I believe originally it had windows 7 installed which was upgraded to Windows 10 (home for refurb pcs) by the seller.
The laptop arrived with what appears to be a fresh install of win 10, however to be on the safe side I opted to perform a Windows 'reset' including erasure of all files.
During the reset a black screen appeared with the following;
"A configuration change was requested to enable, activate, clear, enable, and activate the TPM
This action will clear and turn on the computer's TPM (Trusted platform Module)
WARNING: This request will remove any keys stored in the TPM
Press F12 to enable, activate, clear, enable, and activate the TPM Press ESC to reject this change request and continue"
I have no idea what this means and how either of the two options may affect the laptop and the 'reset'
Don't worry. It usually happened when you try to do a Win10 reset with TPM support for hard drive encryption. In your case that you want to reset the whole system without any data or settings left from previous owner, simply press F12 to clear existing TPM settings.
hey i selected the full clean option, it seemed to have gotten all the way through it, but now seems to be stuck in a loop that does this: Windows Logo, Windows Logo with Welcome below, Blue screen that shows 100% and some other verbiage that i cant see because it leave so fast, just to start over with the Windows Logo screen, Windows Logo with Welcome and so on.
I have no clue why, I started the process, with it plugged in so I wouldnt lose power, and left so it could do its reset, get back, saw the windows logo thinking, yay! this things reset, but then I saw it again, and again and again and again....what gives???
bmcowboy
4 Apprentice
•
573 Posts
202400
0
Posted September 21st, 2019 02:00
Hi @Dom_155 ,
Don't worry. It usually happened when you try to do a Win10 reset with TPM support for hard drive encryption. In your case that you want to reset the whole system without any data or settings left from previous owner, simply press F12 to clear existing TPM settings.
(edited)