Don't know your problem but you could Temp disable Thumbnail caching by using "My Computer" > Tools > Folder Options > View & scroll to "Do not cache thumbnails" & tick it then click "Apply". --------------- Edit:
I think the Thumbnail Cache is called thumbs.db & a file called that is auto created for all Folders. It can be deleted & Windows will auto create another file unless you have disabled Thumbnail caching as above.
You Search Advanced (1st 3 boxes ticked) for thumbs.db Should find a file for each Folder which can be deleted.
But as thumbs.db is a hidden file you 1st have to use "My Computer" > ......View as before scroll to "Hidden files & folders" & check "Show hidden files & folders" , then click "Apply" button. ---------- Edit: Once you set "Show hidden files & folders" you could then open a Folder & it should show the thumbs.db file so you could Delete it there instead of using Search.
Close Folder & re-open & it should have been auto created again unless disabled as before info.
Message Edited by gryjhnhpe on 04-28-2004 11:03 AM
I think the Thumbnail Cache is called thumbs.db & a file called that is autocreatedforeachFolders. It can be deleted & Windows will auto create another file unless you have disabled Thumbnail caching as above.
You Search Advanced (1st 3 boxes ticked) for thumbs.db Should find a file for each Folder which can be deleted.
But as thumbs.db is a hidden file you 1st have to use "My Computer" > ......View as before scroll to "Hidden files & folders" & check "Show hidden files & folders" , then click "Apply" button. ---------- Edit: Once you set "Show hidden files & folders" you could then open a Folder & it should show the thumbs.db file so you could Delete it there instead of using Search.
Close Folder & re-open & it should have been auto created again unless disabled as before info
Thanks a LOT for this advice. I've tried it and hope it keeps XP from randomly replacing all my Photoshop 6.01 thumbnails with other thumbnails--some PS, some not. This is the first advice I've found that appears related to the problem. (I tried calling Dell in India--THAT didn't help!!!)
I wondered it the huge number of useless clips that clutter up my Microsoft Clip Organizer could be destablizing my PS thumbnails. MCO came with MS Office 2003 Basic Edition. I added about 9 clips to it from the Microsoft site and can't delete them permanently (they come back by themselves). More annoyingly, on its own, MCO has created and populated a folder called "Unclassified Clips." Most of these clips look useless; some are remnants of deleted programs (eg, an aol banner); many are not identifiable at all. The option to delete them is grayed out. I tried to select and delete them, but got an error message. Is there any way to get rid of the debris in the Clip Organizer? Could its unregulated clip storage be slowing down other programs or overloading the thumbnail generation process? If there's no way of controlling Clip Organizer, can I delete it altogether without deleting other Office programs? (If so, how?) (Also, I don't foresee wishing I hadn't deleted it, but if I do delete it and want it back again, how would I do that?)
Thank you for anything you can tell me about this.
gryjhnhpe
2 Intern
•
1956 Posts
382
0
Posted April 27th, 2004 21:00
Don't know your problem but you could Temp disable Thumbnail caching by using "My Computer" > Tools > Folder Options > View & scroll to "Do not cache thumbnails" & tick it then click "Apply".
---------------
Edit:
I think the Thumbnail Cache is called thumbs.db & a file called that is auto created for all Folders.
It can be deleted & Windows will auto create another file unless you have disabled Thumbnail caching as above.
You Search Advanced (1st 3 boxes ticked) for thumbs.db
Should find a file for each Folder which can be deleted.
But as thumbs.db is a hidden file you 1st have to use "My Computer" > ......View as before scroll to "Hidden files & folders" & check "Show hidden files & folders" , then click "Apply" button.
----------
Edit:
Once you set "Show hidden files & folders" you could then open a Folder & it should show the thumbs.db file so you could Delete it there instead of using Search.
Close Folder & re-open & it should have been auto created again unless disabled as before info.
Message Edited by gryjhnhpe on 04-28-2004 11:03 AM