Start a Conversation

Unsolved

W

40 Posts

November 30th, 2019 16:00

Aurora R9, Fans speed up and go loud

Hi guys,

After years & years....& years, I finally got my 1st AW!

I'd delighted to finally own 1 but then when I start 'doing' stuff, my fans speed up and get loud.

Now if I was really pushing the system, fair enough but all I'm running is WoW and FM20.

A system this good should surely be able to deal with those game, in a ultra silent way.

Any suggestions on limiting the speed of the fans?

I'm really new to all this even though I've been using a PC for gaming for like 25 years.

Thanks in advance guys.

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

November 30th, 2019 19:00

@Wyer   Any suggestions on limiting the speed of the fans?

It is always helpful if you share the components in your R9 - like CPU, graphics card, PSU, RAM, liquid or air cooled, any modifications you have made, etc.

40 Posts

November 30th, 2019 20:00

Ok, I'll look at that in greater detail tomorrow all tho its not water cooled I  know that much.

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

November 30th, 2019 20:00

@Wyer   This is the system I bought

Posting the components here for reference: Aurora R9, Intel® Core™ i7-9700, 6GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660Ti Graphics, 8GB DDR4 RAM, 1TB HDD & 256GB SSD, Gaming PC

Looks like you got a pretty good deal, but as you have already noticed, the claim "Gaming PC" is somewhat of a stretch (OK, it is a lie).

It is hard to tell which fan(s) may be screaming the loudest; CPU fan, top exhaust fan, or graphics card fan . . . or all three. Personally, I have not yet seen the inside of an Aurora R9 that did not have a liquid cooled CPU. Your CPU has the locked clock multiplier, and is only cooking at 65 watts, so that may be why air-cooled was an option.