Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

December 3rd, 2020 11:00

17 R4, reseat the memory message?

Hello! Today after restarting the laptop, I have a white screen from SupportAssist saying:

"The amount of system memory has changed. If you did not change your memory... To resolve this issue, try to reseat the memory.".

I have no idea what this means. I have not touched any RAM or memory and do not touch it or anything of the sorts as I'm a newbie at this kind of stuff. I have no clue what reseating the memory even means. Any help would be appreciated!

1 Rookie

• 

384 Posts

April 7th, 2021 10:00

@Cnote248 See the accepted solution for you model. After uninstalling SA you do not install it again. The same will happen if you do so. Just wait for the upcoming fix for SA targeting during April as @fireberd says.

1 Rookie

• 

384 Posts

April 16th, 2021 10:00

@fireberd  Edit: The message was back after a new reboot. So we have to wait for the SA fix on 19. april. 

But the BIOS flash seems to have made the message more rarely. So I do recommend doing the BIOS update also.  

1 Rookie

• 

384 Posts

April 16th, 2021 10:00

@fireberd There is a new bios update for 17R3, version 1.12.0: https://www.dell.com/support/home/no-no/drivers/driversdetails?driverid=5fcxk&oscode=wt64a&productcode=alienware-17-r3 

And there is a new for 17R4, version 1.11.0: https://www.dell.com/support/home/no-no/drivers/driversdetails?driverid=r5dp6&oscode=wt64a&productcode=alienware-17-laptop 

17R5, version 1.12.0: https://www.dell.com/support/home/no-no/drivers/driversdetails?driverid=c6d29&oscode=wt64a&productcode=alienware-17-r5 

After the update the reseat memory message haven't appeared. Restarted, shutdown, restarted again, cold boot. Is it possible that the BIOS flash fixed the issue on 17R3 systems? Still a bit to early to tell for sure, but it looks promising. Report back after some more days. And soon the SA update is out also.   

9 Legend

• 

33.3K Posts