Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

November 28th, 2018 20:00

Creating a Repurpose SQL snapshot on XtremIO - all databases

Hey guys,

I'm a Database Developer trying to get a handle on Appsync so we can start using it with our XtremIO SAN, and take away some of the hassle from our overworked Sysadmin, who has been mounting Protect (Service Plan) copies, unmounting and complaining of having to manually unmapping and expiring the copies.

I'm trying to perform a regular repurpose copy for development, but I am finding when I perform a snapshot repurpose, that it says in the details:

• Backup if database \ completed successfully
  • VSS application thaw succeeded on host .
  • Created snapshot-set SnapshotSet.1543461779789 using the CG _ All_Databases on XtremIO CKM00163500678.
  • Created XtremIO snapshot ..snap.20181129_144135.g1 of XtremeIO volume on XtremIO CKM00163500678.

The problem here is, although I am on the "User Databases" page of "Copy Management", I am selecting a single database, and I want to just repurpose that single database - and instead, this makes a g1 copy of all the databases on the server.

Is there something I'm doing wrong here - why is it choosing All Databases when I am after the one?

We're also finding that in the XtremIO utility, it is reporting the copy is the full size of the original - so, for a 50gb database, it'll report that an additional 50gb is used for each copy we make - eg 3 copies is 150gb on our XtremIO.  My understanding was that it was a point-in-time diffed copy and it would only accrue additional space as the two copies became different from each other?

82 Posts

December 4th, 2018 06:00

There is no right or wrong way to accomplish what you are doing. The two types of workflows can essentially support both use cases, i.e. protection and repurposing.