Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

May 31st, 2010 03:00

ADS setup

Hi everyone!

I'm new to Avamar. Trying to set up ADS Gen3 demo equipment.

According to the system  installation manual for Avamar  DataStore Gen3 I need to get "application software customer tarball" and copy it to Avamar. Where can  i find it? Certain passwords and passphrases are mentioned in this  document as well. For example for root and admin which are defaults I  believe, but again I don't know them and I don't know where to find  them. Sorry for stupid question.

266 Posts

October 12th, 2010 07:00

please check your inbox ... it is uploaded ...

Please let me know if anything else required ...   

-r

266 Posts

May 31st, 2010 03:00

There are no stupid questions

you can use this installation. It's not demo but full funconality Avamar version which works fine without license (30 days)

ftp://avamar_ftp:anonymous@ftp.avamar.com/software/5.0.2/v5.0.2.41-customer_unified-v5.0.105.169.tar.gzanonymous@ftp.avamar.com/software/5.0.2/v5.0.2.41-customer_unified-v5.0.105.169.tar.gz

regards,

16 Posts

May 31st, 2010 04:00

Thanks for your reply! Already started to download.

But what about passwords? Why do they say in docs to use root, admin, etc accounts during install but do not specify default passwords. In case of use ADS OS is already preinstalled. How do I know passwords? I've studied installation guides for several versions of avamar and didn't found an info. Should I know this information from any ather source? In this case password "changeme" works for root, but this just goo guess.

266 Posts

May 31st, 2010 05:00

There are different accounts in Avamar world .
for example:  root, admin, dpn

for dpn and admin you use su as root (su - admin), then load the keys ...
  # ssh-agent bash
  # ssh-add ~admin/.ssh/admin_key

you will find it in documentation ... admin guide ...