Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 30th, 2017 06:00

Help setting up a CX3-40f

Hey everyone,

Im new to the EMC world and need some help please.

I have just picked up a CX3-40f and need help to make sure it is functioning.

I have loaded the Navisphere Storage System Initialization Wizard on my server, and on the same subnet I have both SP's plugged into.

I can see both NIC's are getting an IP.

However, how do I get into the system to make sure it is working?

I have no storage array connected yet, as I want to make sure the CX3-40f is working before I buy more equipment.

Thank you,

Rick

5 Posts

June 30th, 2017 06:00

Sorry, in the Initialization wizard, it says it cannot see anything connected to the network.

4.5K Posts

July 6th, 2017 08:00

First off, you need to know what the IP address for the Storage Processors on the array are. The CX3 has two SP's - SPA and SPB, each SP has a unique IP address. If you know the IP addresses for the SP's, then you can use IE (the Navisphere interface for the array uses JAVA, so you will need to install an older version of JAVA on you PC - for the CX3 you should install JAVA version 1.6.30). Then open a new browser window and type in the IP address for SPA. This should start the login to the array. Once it connects it will ask you for a username and password to log into the array. If you do not know what the username/password for the array is, there are a couple of forum posts that explain how to reset the username/password for the array - do a search for "reset username" - this procedure will require that you connect a PC to the back of the array using a null modem cable - this allows you to access the array without requiring a usename/password.

Before you get started I would recommend that you visit the below link for the documentation on the CX3. You can find information and white papers about installing, setting up and configuring the array and connecting a host to the array.