Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 23rd, 2008 18:00

Centera and Symantec Enterprise Vault

I am new to the Centera and I have been told by a Symantec Enterprise software person that the Centera has the ability for me to schedule the Centera to go out to the E-mail collections folder on the windows server and "pick up" all the files deposited there. I thought that the Symantic API purchased to connect to the Centera to the E-mail vault was the software to perform this function.

Can anyone set me straight? I thought the application drives the writing and retrieval?

Thanks

124 Posts

September 24th, 2008 06:00

That is correct - The application does the reading and writing to/from the Centera. The Centera is not "aware" of the application

227 Posts

April 26th, 2010 00:00

Hi Dennis,

Do you have any guide to show the steps connecting the centera to a EV ? where to assign the PEA file ?

Thnx

227 Posts

April 26th, 2010 05:00

Ya sure EV to centera , but I was looking for the Symantec document , I thought you already used this before this is why I asked you.

Thanks

124 Posts

April 26th, 2010 05:00

You do not connect the Centera to EV or any other application. You connect EV (or the application) to the Centera. This is done through the application and as such Symantec should be able to proovide you with this info.

Generally speaking (not EV specific), you setup a connection string which includes one or more IP addresses of the primary Centera followed by the pea file information

e.g.

127.0.0.1?c:\temp\profile.pea

April 27th, 2010 01:00

Hi Yousef

Check http://ftp.support.veritas.com/pub/support/products/Exchange_Mailbox_Archiving_Unit/336833.pdf

The section on how to configure Partitions starts on page 177.

Best regards, Holger

13 Posts

May 26th, 2010 11:00

Yousef,