Start a Conversation

Unsolved

M

14 Posts

May 12th, 2021 12:00

powermax-node pods in CrashLoopBackOff, with initiator/timeout errors

Hi, I'm new to PowerMax, no admin training, so, please excuse newbie questions. Trying to test `csi-powermax` CSI driver on my OpenShift cluster, I'm happy to see `powermax-controller` pods Running, but `powermax-node` pods start crashing after first 10 minutes. When I check pods' logs, I see error messages like;

- "nodeStartup could not GetFCHostPortWWNs"

- "GetInitiatorList failed: Get \"https:// :8443/univmax/restapi/91/sloprovisioning/sym

metrix/000196800573/initiator\": context deadline exceeded"

- "No valid initiators- could not initialize FC or iSCSI"

early, then later when CLBO;

- "Couldn't find any ip interfaces on any of the port-groups"

- "No topology keys could be generated"

I'd be grateful if someone here can nudge me in the right direction as to what may be amiss perhaps with the array or the deploy configs.

thanks, - Hiro

286 Posts

No problem. Zoning is how the powermax "sees" your servers. Once this is done the install script logs into the powermax, sees that the host is there registers it.

When the csi driver does its thing it will tell the powermax to create the desired volume and present it to the servers it was zoned/registered to. 

The zoning is a one time thing so not something you need to do beyond the initial deployment unless you add additional servers

14 Posts

Thanks for the response. I know I want to test with FC, but am not sure what "zoning a node" means. I have to pass this to my PowerMax admin. Bear with me...

286 Posts

did you already zone the nodes to the powermax? or if iSCSI log into the powermax via the host iscsi initiators?

286 Posts

May 14th, 2021 08:00

yup, this is all your storage team would handle in Unisphere and on the network switches. Nothing you can really see from the host side of things.

14 Posts