Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

S

November 5th, 2017 15:00

About to lose 20-yr. customer over a botched fraud check

I’ve been buying Dell systems for 20 years.  They’re on the verge of losing me as a customer.

I ordered a loaded XPS Tower SE system on Oct. 16.  I applied for Dell credit to get one-year free financing and 3-day expedited shipping.  I was approved immediately, but when I ordered my system and selected Dell financing as my payment method, it said there was a hold on my order and that I needed to call Dell Financial Services.

I called DFS and they said they needed to do a verification.  They said normally they’d text a code to my phone to give them, but they couldn’t do that because some directory they checked said my number was a land line, but it’s a cell phone.  (It was my land line until I made it my all-purpose cell number around five years ago.)  Because of that, they said they’d have to snail-mail me the code, which would take 5-7 days.

First, I don’t understand the need to verify a customer with a 20-yr. purchase history.  The system will be shipped to the same address Dell has shipped systems to me before.  And if some crook is set up to intercept shipments to my address, what’s the sense of mailing the security code to the same address?

I waited ten days and received no code.  I called DFS back and they said they’d send another one.  That was nine days ago, and I’ve still received no code.

I’m livid.  I’m in desperate need of a replacement for my old XPS system that died.  Instead of 3-day shipping, I’ve now waited 20 days, and there’s still no end in sight.  I’m about ready to take my business to someone who wants it.

I’d like to know how I can escalate this and get the hold on my order released.  The woman who always answers the phone at DFS just recites prewritten scripts and has been no help at all.

4 Operator

• 

3.4K Posts

November 6th, 2017 11:00

Thank you for your message.