Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 15th, 2012 03:00

Inspiron 560MT restarting without warning

I got an Inspiron 560MT (Inspiron 560 MT : Intel Core 2 Quad-Core Q8300(2.50GHz,1333MHz,4MB) Running Windows 7) last May and ever since I set it up it spontaneously reboots with no warning. It is always at random moments, sometimes only a couple of times a month and sometimes up to five times a day and I can find no reason for this. I've had a techie friend run all sorts of diagnostics and have updated the BIOS but no joy. I tried turning off the 'automatic restart' option in the Control Panel but am still getting no blue screen to explain what's going wrong.

I'm not a huge techie type so would appreciate any advice people could give me to resolve the problem, or at least diagnose it. My machine is out of warranty so I can't go to Dell directly.

9 Legend

• 

33.3K Posts

January 15th, 2012 08:00

As you are not getting any indication (e.g. blue screen) my guess would be power supply and/or the AC power line.  This model probably has the typical "Active PFC" type power supply and they are more sensitive to AC power line variations.  If you are using a UPS system that provides power to the PC during power line interruptions it has to either be one with a less than 4 ms switch over time or one that has a "pure sine wave" output or there can be PC power interruptions when the UPS switches to the battery backup.  

If you are using a AC power strip, change to a different one and even change to powering the PC from an AC power outlet that is on a different feed from your Power Panel and even one on a different phase if you can find one.  I would even replace the AC power cord for the PC (the one that plugs into the power supply on the back) with a different cable and make sure it's fully inserted.