Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

H

November 15th, 2016 21:00

No Operating System Found

This is my first time on here so I hope I am in the right location for the problem I have.

I have a Dell XPS 8300 with i7-2600 CPU @3.4 ghz.  It came with Windows 7 but upgraded to Windows 10 before I seen a Dell post saying not to upgrade the XPS to Windows 10 so I am not sure if the error I am getting has anything to do with it.  It worked fine till about a month ago.

I have never had any problems with my PC till I plugged in a friends U-drive to help him with a resume. I was using Word 2013 when it froze, then my PC froze so I did a hard reboot. Everything came up as normal but I couldn't find the word document I was working on. MS Support said to do an all files search using   .wbk files   and to click on the file and search for the missing word document. I did that and a program started loading called    adware.bp . I click don't install and conducted a search again for the word document and the same program popped and started loading again. I again clicked don't install and then all my problems started.  

I found the document and I started working on it. I closed Word and came back to it and it said Word was not initialized. I clicked on Excel and it said Excel was not initialized. I did a normal reboot and I got the error ' No operating System Found ', I did a complete Dell Diagnostic check and everything came back as normal operating condition. Both hard drives are working, ram is working and everything else checked out fine. I accessed the BIOS and everything is showing up on there. I ran an Ubuntu program and all files and programs etc are fine and all partitions are in place. Everything seems normal but my PC won't boot up at power on.