Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

D

December 3rd, 2014 17:00

VGA to HDMI

So this may be the wrong place for this discussion and if so, please direct me to where I need to go....

I am a veterinarian and I recently purchased a bluetooth anesthetic monitor that runs through one of my Dell desktops.  It is an amazing device as I can monitor many vitals from anywhere within 200 feet of the desktop.  I am trying to feed this to two area in my hospital (that will be seen on 42" HD tv's).  The desktop only has a VGA input...so my questions are as follows...

1.  How do I get all three to function simultaneously (the computer monitor and the two tv's)....

do they make a vga splitter (one output from the tower and then one I can plug into the computer monitor and another that I can then run a  vga to hdmi component ...from there I would need an hdmi splitter to run to each TV)....if I can do this, will there be a great amount of lag time???

2. Would there be an easier/cheaper way???  ie...buy a new laptop or desktop with different outputs as none of the computers I currently own have HDMI outputs or two vga outputs...

Any help would be appreciated as I have searched the internet for the perfect option but have come up with squat!!!

Thanks in advance,

Dr. G

9 Legend

• 

47K Posts

December 4th, 2014 04:00

The whole setup will be expensive.

There are VGA to Cat5 extenders and there are VGA one to many amplifiers.

http://www.networktechinc.com/vga-extender.html

http://www.amazon.com/HDE-Audio-1080p-Converter-Adapter/dp/B009L4X3ZA

The VOPEX® VGA Video Splitter/Extender simultaneously broadcasts ±high-resolution video from one computer to 4, 8, or 16 remote monitors located up to 600 feet away using CAT5/5e/6 cable. Optional audio functionality using self-powered stereo speakers enhances presentations.