Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 6th, 2009 12:00

XP Computer keeps logging off at the sign on screen - Need to repair or restore to factory. How? Help

Hi, i have the same problem as was recently reported by Gary2009;

"I'm hoping to find some help with what appears to be an infected XPSM1710.

Every time I try to long on, the computer starts as though it is going to, the desktop image flashes up but then the computer immediately logs off. I have also tried in safe mode and exactly the same happens.

I am not technically minded and any help would be most welcome."

I have this exact same problem. One of the replies to gary2009's post said he should try restoring to factory settings, or if he wanted to backup his files, maybe an OS repair? Now i dont know what this is, but i definately want to keep my files. I have been amassing a very large amount of images for my work, and it would be devestating if i had lost them. I was just recently thinking about backing them up, and now this- i cant even get onto my computer. Im gutted.

If anyone has any suggestions for me, i would very much appreciate it. Thank you

ps i think my computer is called a DIMENSION 3100c

10 Elder

• 

46K Posts

May 6th, 2009 13:00

jwaters_85

Check out the directions HERE for restoring the Dimension 3100c to it's factory settings.

Bev.

134 Posts

May 6th, 2009 13:00

I had this on two PCs here at my work and had to reinstall the OS, Repair doesn't do it... Not sure why or what happen, but a fresh reinstall will fix it...

Thanks

10 Elder

• 

44.3K Posts

May 6th, 2009 15:00

Do you actually see your desktop, if only for an instant, before it starts over? Or does it just show the Windows logo and restart? If you see your desktop, does it just log you out of your account or does it start rebooting Windows, as if you just turned the machine on?