Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 13th, 2007 17:00

XPS-710 regular crashes under load (long sorry)

Ok let me start by saying that I've got over 20 years of PC technican experience and this one has me just about ready to throw everything out a window (no pun intended). I'm hoping that a second pair of "eyes" can give me a quick fix into what I'm missing. I'm trying to solve BSOD and page fault issues when the system is under any load.

HISTORY:
Bought a XPS-710 6600-CPU with 4 gigs of RAM and XP-PRO along with the 8600 GTS video card and two 250gig drives. I have a GEN1 XPS so I installed virtually the same applications on the new system as I have on the origional XPS (Office 2003, Nero, Adobe Premire 1.5 and not much else but a few of the games I play alot). I'm also a digital photographer and have about 60 gigs of photos and about 40 gigs of music.

Step 1... partitioned the first 250 gig drive into C: 50 gigs and D was the rest leaving only the OS on C and I installed all my applications on it.
Step 2 .. Ran Windows update and downloaded all the updates for Office and XP.
Step 3 .. Installed Norton Internet Security 2006 and Ghost 10 and ran the live update for them.
Step 4 .. Installed my games on the second 250 gig drive E
Step 5 .. Purchased a new WD 500 gig drive and installed it as drive F
Step 6.. pulled the data only drive (500 gig) from my first XPS and put it in as G. This drive has all my photos and music on it.

I decided at some point that I didn't want my data on drive G so I decided to drag and drop the main photos folder to F which amounted to about 60 gigs. Right off the top I noticed some problem. It got about 10 gigs into it then failed stating that there was some sort of fault unfortunatly I didn't make note of it at the time. I was able to finish the copy by doing it in smaller chunks.