Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 14th, 2002 01:00

Whe is the best time to buy a desktop from Dell?

When is the best time to buy a desktop from Dell?  Bassically what time of the year will i get the best for my money.  For instance does dell try to get rid of all its merchandise before the new year, or is that different because the build a system specific to your needs.  I'v been researching computer buying for a while, but i'm new with dell, how often do these: get this free, hard drive upgrade, '''''''''' off, free shipping, etc; come around?  Thanx.

907 Posts

October 14th, 2002 02:00

Theres really no ideal time to buy a computer. The "deals" they offer usually work out to be the same total money off if your spec'ing out a high end system. If you want a nice system from Dell, buy it. Thats the bottom line.

55 Posts

Buy when you can get the most money off from the specials...they usually come with the free CD-RW/monitor/memory upgrades at the same time. Dell ALWAYS has a special going because it's a very good marketing tool. They figure if someone is wanting to buy a computer and they have a sale going, the customer is more likely to think that he/she should buy now instead of later because he/she can get free stuff and save money.

If you see how they do their special offers every so often you will notice a pattern. I have noticed with some instances you can get a computer $200-300 dollars less with the same configuration if you just want until you can get the best discount. This still wont lead me to ever buy a dell though hehe, since you can get a better computer for less if you make it yourself.

3.4K Posts

Hi,

Like Dan says, Dell always has something going on with deals of one sort or other.

But your wrong to think that prices will drop as new models come out. Dell only buys what they need and have orders for. There is not 'stock' so to speak to clear out.

Mis Dos Centavos,
Darrell