Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

November 16th, 2016 13:00

New Admin for ECS

Hi,

I am new to ECS and I need to know how to allow more systems to communicate with ECS.

We have 2 racks that are physically separated by about 4 hours travel time.  Each rack has 8 nodes and each rack is its own VDC - one is our primary and the other is in our disaster recovery location.  Each rack currently has 1 storage pool that contains all 8 nodes.  There is only 1 replication group so far and only one namespace and two buckets, but only using one bucket so far.

The storage pool is named pool1.  The replication group is RG1.  The namespace is CloudArray.  The bucket is csoc (the other is ja).

My question is that we would like to connect SourceOne to ECS for the archive portion of SourceOne, so would I create a new storage pool and a new replication group and a new namespace and a new bucket, or do I use the same storage pool and replication group and just create a new namespace and bucket?  I believe that I will also need to create a new User to go with the new namespace (currently we have 2 users in the object users - csoc and ja - I believe that we only use the csoc user).

Currently we are only using ECS as the private cloud for CloudArray, but we would like to connect SourceOne to it (via Atmos REST API).  Next we would like to connect OnBase to it using CAS (I believe).  Then Interactive Intelligence.

We currently have nothing under "File".

I have been trying to make sense of the ECS Admin guide and the more I read in it, the more confused I get.  Please help simplify this process, please.

281 Posts

November 17th, 2016 07:00

Hi Mike,