Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 16th, 2013 09:00

Backup jobs (FULL or DIFFs) disconnect LUNs and bringing SQL Cluster down

Here are the typical Os errors, before SQL fails over to the passive node:

-Connection to the target was lost. The initiator will attempt to retry the connection.
-The initiator could not send an iSCSI PDU. Error status is given in the dump data.
-\Device\MPIODisk25 is currently in a degraded state. One or more paths have failed, though the process is now complete.

Now, I am not a SAN expert, I am a MS-SQL DBA. I am just frustrated by the whole situation.

Has anyone seen this issue before?

I can't confirm exact patch, but our SAN expert applied a firmware upgrade (suggested by DELL) and since then, things are now even worse. I can't run backups anymore. Before, the LUNs disconnect sporadically at least and disk resource came online on their own. Not anymore. He also removed duplicated MPIO entries or something like that, also suggested by DELL.

This is a two node SQL2012 SP1 Cluster running on Windows2008r2 SP1 Os.

Any suggestion is highly appreciated. I may bring that to our SAN expert. I am not ruling out any Windows or HP Proliant driver problem though but everything seems to point to the SAN.

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

August 16th, 2013 10:00

Disconnects on iSCSI are often network/switch related.  Backups tend to be sustained reads.  When that happens the incoming buffers on the server NICs get quickly exhausted.  So the cards will try to issue a flowcontrol PAUSE frame.  If the switch is not configured for that, the switch continues to send data, the server just starts dropping packets as the buffer is overflowed.  Causing massive retransmits and other timeouts.   Which lead to dropped volumes.

What kind of switches are you using?  

Regards,

7 Posts

August 16th, 2013 10:00

Don,

Thanks for reply.