Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

1 Message

12964

February 19th, 2017 10:00

Press F12 to clear the TPM message

Hello, recently I got a TPM lockout, probably from restarting the laptop too often/quickly and logging in via the Windows 10 PIN option.

After the lockout, I made a poor-choice and used the tpm.msc windows application to clear the TPM.  But I never went through with it when prompted to on startup.

Afterwards, I went online and did some more research and realized I do not want to clear the TPM, I simply wanted to clear the lockout, which eventually happened automatically given some time with the laptop plugged in.

However, the following pesky message keeps showing up at startup.  I keep pressing ESC but every bootup, it keeps showing up.

A configuration change was requested to clear this computer's TPM (Trusted Platform Module)

WARNING: Clearing erases information stored on the TPM. You will lose all created keys and access to data encrypted by these keys.

Press F12  to clear the TPM

Press ESC  to reject the change request and continue

How do I remove this message?  I do not wish to clear the TPM and reinstall Windows 10.

I own a Dell Inspiron 7559 which was purchased on November 2016.

No Responses!
No Events found!

Top