Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 24th, 2017 11:00

Theorical question: put everything on an Isilon cloudpool target

Hello,

I've got no experience with Cloudpools, but I've got a lot of questions about it.

I've read the Cloudpool whitepaper "ISILON CLOUDPOOLS AND ELASTIC CLOUD STORAGE" (https://www.emc.com/collateral/white-papers/h14775-isilon-cloud-pools-and-ecs-solution-guide.pdf) which explains quite well the different read/write phase and cache mechanisms (and associated knobs) involved.

Now, let's imagine something (crazy ?) like two Isilon clusters : one (cluster_S) with a cloudpool policy saying "move everything under /ifs/data/your_data_root to cloudpool and the other (cluster_T) that will be the cloudpool target.

Every writes happens on cluster_S, the smartpool job is triggered once a day for example and move everything on the cluster_T. The local cache ("local data cache" in the whitepaper) allows to use files as is they were on cluster_S.

Of course, you have to consider the time necessary to move data block from cluster_T to cluster_S and if cluster_T is able to ingest as much data as cluster_S is. But as a thought experiment, will it work well enough or is it something completely stupid ? I have absolutely no idea of the protocols (http ?) involved here and the associated overhead that could make this setup flawed right from the start.

Could we imagine a Gen6 F800 cluster_S in front of a bunch of A2xxx acting as a cloudpool target for example ?  

I really like the "cache" architecture: it is more dynamic than a fast and a slow tiers inside the same Isilon cluster associated to placement policies that you need to calibrate and reevaluate continuously to prevent spillover. 

Ideally, I would like to achieve that without relying on Cloudpool and dedicate some network user facing fast nodes to something like a global L3 cache to behave like an Avere system =)

Jean-Baptiste

254 Posts

July 25th, 2017 07:00