Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 14th, 2017 08:00

C Drive size vs D Drive, Big Change

I've been using PC for over 40 years and this is new. Just got a new Alienware 17 R4

The C (boot) drive is the SSD and is only 60gb,  the data drive is 1 tb.

In the past and even as recently as Feb 2014 when I got my last Alienware 17 the C drive has ALWAYS been the larger of the two drives.

Do you think Dell would have told me that they changed their implementation? No. Tech support wasn't helpful. They basically said this is the way it is now so deal with it. 

Meanwhile under the assumption this new laptop still had C as the large drive I've spent 15+ hours over the last couple days migrating data and installing programs and now C is full.

Now my choice is uninstall everything I've loaded,  move my data and hope I get it right etc etc or ship it back..

Back it goes. So

This happen to anyone else?

Community Manager

• 

54.9K Posts

September 14th, 2017 08:00

Ever since we introduced SSD, we have been doing this. Every OEM is going to this model of operation. You only want the operating system and perhaps Office and CAD installed on the faster SSD C drive. But even then, those Office and CAD documents should be saved to the 1TB sata drive or the cloud. All of your other applications should be installed on the 1TB sata drive.

9 Legend

• 

14K Posts

September 14th, 2017 18:00