Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

April 30th, 2009 19:00

Dell Studio 1537 Randomly Shutting Off During Use

So I have searched through forums looking for a solution to this problem, and I have seen that other users have experienced similar problems with other studio laptops.  I'm not sure why this is happening but when I'm using my computer it makes a clicking noise (like the noise when you normally shut it down) and shuts off randomly.  I haven't had it on for an extended period of time and it isn't that hot.  Thought it might be overheating or some other battery connection issue, but it's not.  I bought it previously ordered new from the Dell Outlet so it should be brand new. I was wondering if anyone has found a solution to the problem or if Dell is providing any help with this extremely aggravating issue.  I'm a college student and it's been happening to me in the middle of doing assignments.  I bought this computer specifically for school and all while it performs nicely for the most part, the random shutting down is simply unacceptable.  I bought it in January so I don't know what the warranty is like.  Any help would be appreciated.  I sure haven't gotten any yet.  

OS Name Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium

Version 6.0.6001 Service Pack 1 Build 6001

Other OS Description Not Available

OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation

System Name JED-NOTEBOK

System Manufacturer Dell Inc.

System Model Studio 1537

System Type X86-based PC

Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     T5800  @ 2.00GHz, 2000 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)

BIOS Version/Date Dell Inc. A06, 11/17/2008

SMBIOS Version 2.5

Windows Directory C:\Windows

System Directory C:\Windows\system32

Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume3

Locale United States

Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.0.6001.18000"

User Name Jed-Notebok\Jed

Time Zone Mountain Daylight Time

Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 3.00 GB

Total Physical Memory 2.96 GB