Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

March 31st, 2013 18:00

Inspiron 15z 5523 Ultrabook not turning on - no response

Hello, Got my laptop a month ago and was working well until yesterday. I had just closed it the other night after charging it. Then there was nothing - no boot, no LED with charger, no fan. I checked and the charger is definitely functioning, so I worry that this is a problem with the motherboard. Since it's an ultrabook, I haven't been able to remove flea power since the battery is embedded into the laptop. If I could get some advice on removing it, or any other possible solutions, that would be great! Otherwise, I wonder if it would be possible for a technician to come have a look at it ASAP? I'm a student at uni and have no way to get to the repair centre :(

1.5K Posts

July 24th, 2013 17:00

Hi bigfern,

I would suggest you to run hardware diagnostics on the system for hardware functionality, by following the steps below:

• Reboot and tap 3-4 times to enter the Boot Menu.
  • When the boot device list appears, highlight Diagnostics and press Enter.
  • The computer begins to run the Pre-boot System Assessment, a series of embedded diagnostics that perform initial testing on your system board, keyboard, hard drive, and display.
  • In case any hardware component is bad, you will get a corresponding error.

If you have not reseated the Memory modules, you may reseat them. For Owner’s Manual, please refer to the link: http://bit.ly/XtmyEE.

Hope this helps. Please feel free to reply for any further assistance. 

4 Posts

August 11th, 2013 02:00

Hello Again.

I am again experiencing the same problem which i did before about which i have posted in this thread before.

That is 4 distinct beeps referring to memory or RAM failure.

I tried doing what was suggested last time that is removing the memory modules and re inserting them.