Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

November 12th, 2014 20:00

Installing an SSD in a Dell New Inspiron 14z 5423?

Hello, I currently have a dell new inspiron 14z, with 512gb hdd and a 60gb of cache-ssd (if that's the right term)I'm planning to buy a Samsung 256gb ssd and install it in place of the hdd - and since the Windows is installed in the HDD, this means that I'll have to reinstall Windows again.

So since I'm a newbie to all the ssd thing, I have a few number of questions -

1) Would I need to change BIOS settings? It's currently set at Intel RST setting (I don't remember the right term, but it wasn't AHCI), and it uses rapid storage technology using the micro ssd. Would I need to disable it to reinstall Windows?

2) Since I don't have a recovery disk, is it ok if I just download Windows from http://dellwindowsreinstallationguide.com/download-microsoft-windows-and-office/download-microsoft-windows/windows-7-sp1-iso-download/
 and install it in the USB?

Thank you so much!

7 Technologist

• 

7.1K Posts

November 12th, 2014 22:00

Hi Andrew Pai,

mSATA drive uses the SSD technology to make the system faster. If you replace the normal mechanical hard drive with SSD hard drive the IRST technology feature would be nullified.

However, to use the SSD on the system please change the SATA operation mode in the BIOS from IRST to AHCI. You will need an operating system reinstallation disc to install it on the system. You can use the link below for placing a request for operating system reinstallation disc (USA only).

http://dell.to/TmYffg

If you are not able to place a request for the disc from the link above, then please send me a private message with the computer's service tag, Name registered during the system purchase and email address so that I can check what can be done. To send a private message, click on my name and send private message.

5 Posts

September 23rd, 2015 10:00

I want replace HDD with an SSD.