Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

February 6th, 2011 07:00

Rebuilding Latitude D810 - Which Drivers should I install

I'm in the process of rebuilding a Latitude D810 which I originally bought in June 2006 - it's my first time rebuilding the laptop so bare with me if I seem confused!.

I've put my Service Tag into the Drivers and Downloads page and 23 files have been found for my laptop.  Should I install all 23 files? 

I'm a bit confused because some of the categories e.g. 'Chipset' have 3 files with the tag 'Optional' - should I just install everything from the oldest to the newest?

I'm also a bit confused as to when I should install the BIOS; the installation guidelines on the Drivers and Downloads page do not list the BIOS - http://support.euro.dell.com/support/topics/topic.aspx/emea/shared/support/downloads/en/driver_install_order?c=uk&cs=ukbsdt1&l=en&s=bsd&~lt=print. 

I'm aware that installing things in the wrong order can cause the laptop to not perform properly, so I was hoping someone could direct me to a link with the correct installation order.

Also, there is no Network Interface Card listed in the Network category of drivers to download - there are 5 options but none are listed as NIC.

Thanks for your help!

667 Posts

February 6th, 2011 08:00

It's not too hard but you need to do things in the right order.  One thing that might help is there is a guide for re-installing the operating system back on your PC.  It's located here.

Which device you pick is related to your options installed.  For the D-810

• System Utilities > Notebook System Software is NOT optional on a re-install.  Install this first
  • Chipset > Intel Driver is next followed by a reboot.
  • Chipset > Texas Instruments Driver is needed if you install any cards in the side of the machine.  Install it anyway just in case.
  • Bios - You don't have to install this now.  You can do it later.