Start a Conversation

Unsolved

S

3 Posts

May 20th, 2021 09:00

Latitude 5400, no sound after May 2021 Windows update

Hey,

Issue:
I'm an IT Tech and the company I work for and we've some 5400 models. After May 2021 Windows update, there is no sound. The Sound Icon stays RED Cross (No Sound Device Installed).

Issue could have been caused by the May 2021 Windows update. My best guess is "2021-05 Cumulative Update for Windows 10 Version 1909 for x64-based Systems (KB5003169)".

Device details:
Windows Version: 1909 build: 18363, Windows 10 Enterprise
Processor: i5-8365U, RAM: 16 GB, x64 Bit 

What happens:
Device will ask for reboot and will says failed to update the windows and rolling back the update. and when user logins in to laptop Sound is missing.

Tried:
BIOS update to 10.1.1, Audio update . Re-installed Audio and created another windows login account and same issue with that too. Uninstalled the May-21 Windows update and still same issue.

Temporary workaround =

1. Remove the USB headset from the Laptop and wait for 30 seconds and connect back to laptop.
  2. Right click on the Sound/speaker icon (bottom right corner)
  3. Click Open Sound settings
  4. Right side under, "Related Settings", click Ease of Access audio settings
  5. Right side under, "Related Settings", click Sound settings
  6. Now you should be able to see the USB headset audio device is now detected
  7. Slide the volume to test the sound and it should work.

Please not this is only a temporary workaround. A reboot will bring back the problem and same step will fix it.

What I m looking for: Is there any fix?

June 8th, 2021 12:00

We've had this problem on a couple machines as well- 

We've uninstalled/reinstalled all audio related drivers, one coworker replaced a motherboard and had no change (I'm about to do the same on Friday to see if my MOBO replacement fixes it), coworker is trying a fresh image on the new computer.