Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 5th, 2017 09:00

Precision 5520 with Ubuntu - Some Topics

I just received a new Precision 5520 with the pre-installed Ubuntu 16.04, which I ordered (touch screen, M.2 SSD, i7).

Unfortunately, I'm missing 3 things:
1) fully encrypted file system - without that, I'm not allowed to use the laptop
2) touch pad reacting on 3 finger gestures (such as 3 fingers up/down doing Super+W)
3) the standard Ubuntu shortcuts with Super (such as pressing Super a little longer shows all shortcuts)

Since I'm not a Linux expert, I thought there might be 2 options:
a) installing standard Ubuntu (16.04 or 16.10)
b) re-installing via Dell recovery image

For a), some threads on reddit and here indicate manual work and unknown missing parts compared to b) - so for now that's too complicated for me.

For b), I hoped to get at least the encrypted file system, but unfortunately I'm not even able to create a bootable USB stick (via another Ubuntu laptop using Startup Disk Creator) with that image. Works for Ubuntu ISOs, but for the Dell ISO (downloaded 2x to verify, since Dell doesn't provide checksums) when trying to boot the 5520, the message "isolinux.bin missing or corrupt." appears.

Any help?

Thanks

26 Posts

April 5th, 2017 15:00

I think is the right approach to solve your encryption problem.  The reinstallation utility will let you pick your own partition layout but you won't get a recovery partition in the process.  I think that should be fine for you.

Dell's image does not support legacy mode.  When you're trying to boot the image, if it's referring to anything about isolinux, then you are booting in legacy mode.  Dell only uses GRUB2 in UEFI mode for booting.

When you've created the USB disk, a few things to check:

1) Is the disk FAT32?  UEFI can only boot FAT32 disks.