Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 12th, 2012 09:00

Is recovery possible without index?

I'm extremely new to NetWorker, and I know almost nothing, so please forgive me if this is a poor question.

I have a set of media from a totally different NetWorker 7.6.2 environment, and I need to restore specific directories.  I've begun running "scanner -i destination" against one tape, but it is taking an abundance of time that I don't have to spare.  Is there any way to directly restore what I need without using scanner to recreate the index?  I have the directory names, and the original server names, and I can potentially get more information from the original environment if it will help; I just don't know what info to look for!

Thanks in advance for any assistance!

September 12th, 2012 10:00

Hello,

If updating index and media database is not require and only have to restore a saveset of file directly from the tape use this command. For this the save set ID should be known to the user.

Run the following command to load the volume:

nsrjb -lnv -S (slot#) -f (device_name)

To recover the entire saveset:

scanner -s save_set_id device_name | uasm –rv

To recover a single file:

scanner -s save_set_id device_name | uasm -rv filename

for more information you can refer this KB article

http://solutions.emc.com/EMCSolutionView.asp?id=esg52699&usertype=C

445 Posts

Hi All,

You can recover individual files using the command line recover also rather than going through scanner but you have to know the full path to all the files. Just putting in the directory will give you an empty directory therefore unless you know the full file path/s neither of these methods work.