Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 2nd, 2014 02:00

Linux: Recover fails with message "Client 'localhost.localdomain' is not properly configured on the NetWorker Server."

Hi all,

EMC Networker newbie here. I do have lots of Unix/Linux experience though. I got this job because the person who did this job before me had a tragic accident and is in coma

So I can't ask my predecessor anything. It might take years until the guy wakes up again. Quite sad, really. And I have to figure out everything on my own. And yes, he was the only Unix/Linux guy here. The other guys here are nice and friendly from a human perspective ... but they're all Windows guys and when it comes to Unix/Linux they have zero knowledge and can't help me at all.

So ...

Before starting in this new job I had *zero* knowledge of EMC Networker. I had to figure out everything by myself, by reading manual pages, PDF's, forum discussions, and so on.

Right now I am supposed to restore files from one Linux server (which is being phased out) onto another Linux server. Some external consultant was a bit too fast and deleted a lot of files prematurely ... so I can't simply log in to the old server and "scp" the files over to their new home. Nope, I have to restore them from the EMC Networker backup now ... but exactly this part doesn't work

I figured how to launch the "recover" command line tool and how to access the saved files that belong to another server, e.g.

ssh root@newserver

recover -c oldserver.net.local -s bk001.net.local

recover> cd /data

recover> add file1

recover> add file2

recover> relocate /tmp

recover> list

/data/file1 @ Sat 27 Sep 2014 07:09:12 AM CEST

/data/file2 @ Sat 27 Sep 2014 07:09:12 AM CEST

2 file(s) marked for recovery

recover> noforce

will not overwrite any existing files.

recover> recover

Recovering 2 files within /data/ into /tmp

Volumes needed (all on-line):

DATADOMAIN.004 at rd=storage003.net.local:dd001_DEV04