Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

August 29th, 2012 08:00

Networker client installation guide

Hi

I am new to networker. My existing environment already have networker server, console and client running. if i want to add new client which is a windows 2003 server, how do i do the configuration?

What are the step required? is it need to installed client agent on my new windows 2003 server first then use the networker console to add it in?

Regards

Vince

August 29th, 2012 09:00

Hello Vince,

First, you need to install the Networker client software  in client machine (windows 2003). For detail steps with respect to installing the networker client software you can refer the "networker Installation guide" for the topic   "Microsoft Windows Installation" available in EMC power link home page.

Second, You can  configure  the client instance using "Client backup configuration Wizard".

To access the Client Backup Configuration Wizard:

1. From the Administration window, click Configuration.

2. In the Configuration window, click Clients.

3. Add a client or modify an existing client:

• To add a new client, select Configuration menu > Client BackupConfiguration > New.

• To modify an existing client, select the client and then select Configuration menu > Client Backup Configuration >Modify.

4.Follow the instructions on the wizard pages.

On the Select Files to Back Up page, it is recommended that you select all files for

backup. This is the default selection.

• By default, the option Perform disaster recovery for this client is selected.

Un-selecting this option will exclude the DISASTER_RECOVERY:\ save set

from being backed up, and the VSS SYSTEM save sets will be generated

instead.

• If you are protecting a system that also hosts Active Directory, DFS-R, or

Windows Server Failover Cluster, and you want to have the option to recover

these items online, that is, without performing a disaster recovery, create an