Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 1st, 2012 17:00

Delayed Order (twice) - Exceptions get Free Shipping?

I ordered a Dell XPS 14z Laptop back on 2/13/2012 to replace my broken HP. As a Graduate Student, I am always in dire need of my computer. However, I thought the week and a half sacrifice would be worth a better product. Unfortunately, that week and a half expected wait has turned into a much longer wait. While my expected delivery date was 2/22/2012, it did not arrive by 2/22/2012. I was put in touch with a customer service representative in the beginning of my order, and he kept in touch with me regarding the progress of my order that first week. He checked the reason for delay and asked for my order to be expedited without my bugging him.Then, he told me that a back-order on screens was the reason that my order would be delayed until 3/1/2012. Once learning of the delay, I attempted to contact him via phone, leaving a message at his extension and sending an e-mail requesting compensation for my wait. I never received a reply.

This morning, 3/1/2012, I received an automated call from Dell about my order being delayed once more. I called Dell and was transferred to four different representatives, being dropped twice. I finally got into contact with someone, asking for some sort of discount since my order has taken roughly a month (a fact that one of the Dell representatives brought up to me and thought was ridiculous). The reply I received from the last person I talked to was that I would receive free next day shipping. Originally, I elected for Next Day shipping, and with my first delay, they put the order on priority shipping for free. The person whom I talked with claimed that I was an exception for receiving free Next-Day shipping as a compensation.