Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

February 26th, 2010 16:00

Need Inspiron 18200 - PP01X user manual

I have been given a used Dell Inspiron 18200 which has no hard drive.  I need to install the hard drive, but, Ithere is no user manual for it and I can't find where to install the hard drive.  I tried to look up the model number and such on the Dell website, but, the 18200 is not in the list provided. for the manuals.

I am new to Dell products and not familiar with them at  all.  I would truly appreciate it if someone could either tell me where the hard drive is located, provide a snippet of where it is, or perhaps a link to the manual page of the website that I can download.

Thank you :-)

4 Operator

• 

34.2K Posts

Hi, Tinkrbell:

There is no model 18200, so it's hard for me to help.

Here is the manual for the Inspiron 8200 <ADMIN NOTE: Broken link has been removed from this post by Dell>. 

The model number should be just above the keyboard, if you could check.

1 Rookie

• 

87.5K Posts

There is no Inspiron 18200 - it's an Inspiron 8200.  The service manual is here:

http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/ins8200/en/

The hard drive needs a sled and a connector (goes over the pins on the back of the drive):

http://www.parts-people.com/index.php?action=item&id=31

The drive is a 2.5" 9.5 mm EIDE (NOT SATA) unit, 120G or smaller.

7 Posts

February 26th, 2010 18:00

Hi! :-)

Thank you for your time to help.  I was reading the modle info from the label on the bottom of the latopt and it says Inspiron 18200, but, that may be and i instead of a 1.  Inside the lid it does say 8200.  Sorry for the confusion.  Not used the the Dell stuff, Dude. :emotion-5: :-)   This is my first experience with a Dell.