Start a Conversation

Unsolved

OV

3 Posts

April 17th, 2021 15:00

DVD ISSUES

I have a Dell 980 that I bought used to use as a media/Kodi server. It works great at that when the videos are stored on hard drive. I'm having issues with DVDs.

Using a DVD that plays fine on my other PC (ASUS laptop) I tried the play the same DVD on my Dell. With VLC it just flashes and crashes. With Media Player Classic, it throws an err message about "copy-protect fail". Since I've never used this PC for DVDs before I thought maybe the DVD player was faulty is some way. Therefore I added my USB Samsung DVD player that I use with my Laptop. Same exact errors.

One more clue. There is one DVD that plays ok on my laptop but will not rip. I tried that DVD on the Dell and Media Player Classic gave me an err about "wrong region" despite the fact that the DVD player and the DVD are both region-1.

I have updated the drivers and even uninstalled and reinstalled the devices. Same thing.

I'm at a loss. Ideas ??

7 Technologist

• 

10.4K Posts

April 17th, 2021 16:00

your issue of DVD playback is not related to Dell hardware as you have already observed that non Dell dvd device had same error.  It is the media app that is buggy.  not clear which os you are using.  if it is a critical issue it may pay to do a  y fresh clean install of OS, then clean install the player that is written for your os (Win 7 vs 10) and correct bit (32 vs 64).  Also having more ram will help dvd play back if you have other background task active.

Optical drive is getting obsolete just as VHS did.  Hdd and ssd of large capacity are getting cheaper. Maybe good idea to store media collections on hdd, pull the one you like on ssd to play.  It is not mechanic so no more spinning noise.

Re: rip dvd.  That is a separate issue and depends on whether and how copy right material is protected on specific disc.  No one method works for all.

9 Legend

• 

47K Posts

April 18th, 2021 01:00