Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

S

July 17th, 2015 10:00

New T320 curious about RAID setup

I made sure to get the H710 controller. Right now we have 4 1TB hard drives in a RAID 10. I set aside 200 GB  for the OS the rest for storage.  When I looked at the partitioning of the VD though there are 6 partitions on it. EFI system Partition, OEM Partition, Recovery Partition, C:, and D:. I didn't create those, I assume it was configured that way from dell.

Anyways, I was thinking about it, and it seems like it would be better if I could use 2 120GB solid state drives in a RAID 1 as 1 Virtual disk, and delete and reconfigure the virtual disk of the other 4 1TB drives as the RAID 10. Is this possible? If so, how would I go about doing it. I am pretty new to configuring servers, I have only done 1 before. What exactly are the first 4 partitions for, and do I need them? Or when I reconfigure, and instll from the included Dell OS disc, will it repartition the new RAID 1 that way? Thanks in advance.

7 Technologist

• 

16.3K Posts

July 17th, 2015 10:00

When I looked at the partitioning of the VD though there are 6 partitions on it. EFI system Partition, OEM Partition, Recovery Partition, C:, and D:. I didn't create those, I assume it was configured that way from dell.

Yes, the EFI partition is created for any Windows installation installed on a UEFI system; the OEM Partition is called Reserved Partition if using Windows media for the install, Recovery Partition is the WinRE installed on disk for startup issues/repair, and partitions are trivial and created by configured options during the ordering process.